Being Good to Yourself & Your Biz – Weekly Wrap Up

Have you ever had one of those days when you felt like you woke up on the wrong side of the bed, and got knocked upside the head with a mean stick? Perhaps you need to hit the rewind button on your life and figure out when Ms. Hyde decided to come out and play. It probably has a lot with trying to burn the candle at both ends.

Being an entrepreneur comes with its challenges, most of which revolve around the many roles you must play each day. Your work does not have to run the show as long as you take the time for regular self-care. This week I’ve been reading about how to send a little self-love to the boss, because I am the worst when it comes to taking time out for myself without feeling guilty. But such bad patterns lead to burnout and can jeopardize my ability to give my best to my clients.

This weekly wrap up was designed to share the blogs, websites and/or businesswomen that I found particularly helpful this week.  My top blog picks offer some great information on being good to yourself. Establishing good self-care habits is like the gift that keeps on giving. The more you invest in yourself, the more you can invest in others. Happy Friday!

Why You Need to Love Thy Entrepreneurial Self

Have you not been getting the most out of your work lately? Perhaps it’s time to do a SWOT analysis of yourself. Natalie Sisson (@WomanzWorld) reveals the results of her own, after realizing it was a necessary exercise to get herself back on track. Plus, check out the first of her new branding to The Suitcase Entrepreneur. I love the new look!

First, Become the CEO of Your Own Life

A huge part of being a successful entrepreneur is successfully managing your life first. If you take the time to assess your readiness and preparedness, the job of being CEO will be much easier. The right foundation is key to any endeavor. Do the prep work, and the actual job will flow.

How to Get Off the Hamster Wheel

When you first start your business, your focus can be a bit tunnel visioned during the time it takes to get it up and running. But this type of intensity should not be maintained over the long haul, or other parts of your life will truly suffer. The advice in this article from Entrepreneur Magazine (@EntMagazine) is that once you have reached the point of profitability, it’s time to start reaping the rewards of your hard work and time investment by taking some time for yourself. Determine what time means for you, and how some time off can be highly beneficial to the bottom line.

75 Vacation Ideas for Entrepreneurs

I couldn’t resist browsing the suggestions in this great post from The Toilet Paper Entrepreneur (@TPEntrepreneur). Who doesn’t live dreaming about their next vacation, especially when they really feel like they need/deserve a break?! Here are suggestions from 75 entrepreneurs that range from the simple to the true get-away. Perhaps you will be inspired to begin planning a trip of your own, even just to a tent in the backyard with the kids.


Featured Site
I had the pleasure of learning about a new site last week, focused on providing young professional women the tools they need to achieve success in the competitive job market. Pretty Young Professional believes that being young and female does not in any way limit one’s capabilities or qualifications. Young women are fighting to be taken seriously in the professional arena, and PYP’s mission is “to provide guidance, support and encouragement.”

It is unfortunate that we still live in a society where pretty has the power to negate things like power, intelligence, and competitiveness when linked. PYP even received some flack when choosing their name. I love the stance they are taking for women in business and would like to see much more support in this direction. Women are proving every day that “pretty” does not solely define who they are in business. To find out more about Pretty Young Professional, follow them on Twitter @PYPro. I was honored this week with a repost on their site of one of my recent articles — Thanks, ladies!


Woman of Excellence
This week’s Woman of Excellence award goes to Erica Diamond, founder of Women on the Fence. Just last week, Erica was interviewed on CTV News, and shared her story and mission for Women on the Fence. Congratulations, Erica!



Women on the Fence is more than business advice — it’s life advice. From career to relationships, and health to finances, Erica’s got it covered. Her posts range from light and airy, to thought-provoking, with a focus on helping women literally “get off the fence” and get to living “their best life.” I have been inspired by her sage advice, and entertained by her wit. To find out more, you can follow Erica’s latest updates on Twitter @WomenontheFence.


That wraps up this post. I hope you enjoyed my picks for the week.

In case you were wondering, I have no affiliate relationship with anyone I call to your attention on this blog. This is simply my way of spreading the news about information and individuals I have found particularly helpful.

Until next week, keep reading, keep learning, keep growing!

2 Comments

  1. Posted December 17, 2010 at 1:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Dr. Reece,

    Great concept behind your blog. I am honoured to see a link to one of my article.

    Regards.

    • Posted December 17, 2010 at 1:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

      Thanks, Vivek! I tried to find a Twitter or Facebook site for your business so I could hyperlink to you, but was unsuccessful. So happy you saw the link! Your article was a perfect fit for my wrap up this week. 🙂 Shannon

One Trackback

  1. […] Jain for naming me on the list of 21 Amazing Women Women Entrepreneurs and to Dr. Shannon Reece for The Woman of Excellence Award. Thank you for acknowledging all the hard work. I’m very grateful I can do what I love, and […]

Post a Comment