Just Because You Think It Doesn’t Make It Real

When I was a child, I was in a plane crash with my family.  We all survived, but the event left a mark on me.  Thirty years later, I still engage in a mental tug of war during most flights, and become a serious white knuckler anytime there’s turbulence.

Thoughts of this childhood event surfaced after reading a recent post by James Chartrand, who shares this fear, but to the severity of being unable to fly at all.  I could have chosen to let my fear rule me too.  What I experienced as a child was quite real, and very scary.  But I had to come to grips with the fact that not every rough flight was going to end in disaster.  Easier said than done.

There’s a big difference between real and imagined fear, no matter what type of fear you are facing.  Real fear had my family high-tailing it from the wreckage of our plane, with its ruptured fuel tanks.  Imagined fear is what gives me sweaty palms, and worst-case-scenario thoughts every time I board a plane.  My control comes from understanding that because I can create imagined fear in my mind, I also have the power to see right through it.

Perhaps you battle with imagined fear in your business.  It’s easy to allow your mind to take you for a ride when strong emotions are involved.  James hit the nail on the head stating that, “Once you name your true fears… once you actually voice what it really is you’re afraid of… well, nothing sounds so frightening anymore. It’s kind of like shining a light on the monster under the bed and finding a bunch of harmless dust bunnies.”

To get you moving forward, I’d like to give you five simple steps you can begin using today to diffuse the impact of even your most persistent fear:

  1. Acknowledge the fear – Your fear isn’t going anywhere until you get your head out of the sand and face it.
  2. Identify the source of the fear – Put a label on your fear and bring it into the light.
  3. Assess your reaction to the source – Perceptions are powerful.  Are yours turning a mole hill into a mountain?
  4. Reestablish your power over the fear – If you know you are dealing with imagined fear, regain control of your thoughts surrounding it and change them.
  5. Embrace the benefits of the fear – Yes, fear can be beneficial.  Determine what your fear reaction may be revealing to you that you’ve overlooked.

Has fear been holding you back from taking that next big step in your life?  What will you commit to doing today to take control of your life and direct your future?  For more detailed strategies to combat the six most common fears in business, check out my ebook,Conquering Your Fear with a Knockout Punch.”

© 2011 Reece International LLC/Dr. Shannon Reece. All rights reserved.

**************************

If you wish to use this article on your website or online newsletter, no problem, BUT here is what you MUST include:

Dr. Shannon Reece – The One Trusted Woman in a Man’s Business World

Starting your own business can be tough, but having the right tools makes all the difference.  Dr. Reece provides the strategies and tactics women need to get their businesses from zero to launch and achieve real results.  For more information visit www.DrShannonReece.com.


One Trackback

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Dr. Shannon Reece, Dr. Shannon Reece. Dr. Shannon Reece said: Just Because You Think It Doesn’t Make It Real: http://wp.me/pKJr1-oZ […]

Post a Comment